Our *currently unnamed '76 Travo 270!

Author
Travco Model: 1976 270 Rear Bath

Our *currently unnamed '76 Travo 270!

Unread post by tcharters » Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:24 pm

We race Hobie cat 16' sailboats in the summer, and I have since i was 10 and crewed for my uncle. I have spent every summer basting in the sun without shade at the lake that we race on. I have grown to love it, but lately we realized it would be a lot nicer on those 3 to 7 night camps to have a place that had A/C and a shower. So we set out looking for the right RV last year. I am a flooring contractor who also has a mechanical background and hobbies making custom furniture with a minor in electronics. LOL!! I figured we could find something that had been taken care of and maybe neglected on the interior and or mechanics, but had a great exterior. Boy was i wrong!!! All those corrugated aluminum sided R/V's are trash from the start! It was our rude awakening. Then we found a Travco listed for sale on CL. First time ever seeing one of these things, and we were hooked. We went to check it out, and found out the PO had pretty much no mechanical experience and he bought it because it looked good and wanted to take his family to Stanley. After a few years of neglect, she started to break down on him. The last time he drove her, she overheated and had to get towed back to Boise. Thats where she sat. After talking to him, i assumed it was probably a thermostat. So long story short... after haggling, and agreeing on 2300 cash, i agreed to replace the thermo and take her as long as it fired up and did not overheat. It did not, but ran horribly. I ran a blown head gasket test right after that, and it showed no evidence of exhaust in the radiator. So we took her home. I gave her a quick tune up, and reset the timing, and she runs great! The plumbing is all perfect, the heater is awesome, a/c is cold as hell, electronics are 8/10 but nothing doesn't "work". All in all turnkey. A few other minor mechanical iss