76 Brake light switch

Post here for Brake System related Discussion
Author
Message
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:01 am
Travco Model: 1975 270,1974 220
Location: North East Ct

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by Acesneights » Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:37 pm

99$ ?? Ouch.\nI think I would have made the 7$ NAPA one work even if it meant modifying the bracket.
1977 Travco 270 Elite\n1974 Travco 220 Parts unit

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:35 pm

I think a couple proper sized washers on the smaller diameter switch should work. I received the first quote and it was $350.00 a piece. Still waiting on two more to come in. A rubber boot for the tip might be a good idea.

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:32 am
Travco Model:
Location: Kerrville, Texas

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by 77Travco » Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:45 am

I think I would make something much cheaper work... of course I have been known to be frugal that way. :P

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:00 am

I found another place selling them for $50 a piece. Still high for me. Still waiting on two more so called Government surplus quotes. I have 2 5$ switches on the way. I am sure I can get them to work. I just cant see spending that much on a simple switch.\n\nThe link to the $50 switch\nhttp://www.hiltopautoparts.com/product/nos-mop ... ck-models/
Last edited by KB2CRK on Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:22 am

According to a Mopar a-series van forum a Borg warner s237 will work but is not weather tight. The travcos and 69, 70 a series vans used the same switch. It cross references over to the NAPA part you listed Aces and the the switches I ordered off ebay. I will try to carefully remove the rubber boot off of my old switch and see if I can put it on the new one when it gets here.

Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:01 am
Travco Model: 1975 270,1974 220
Location: North East Ct

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by Acesneights » Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:27 pm

I wouldn't worry too much about weather tight unless your gonna do alot of winter driving.
1977 Travco 270 Elite\n1974 Travco 220 Parts unit

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:34 am

I am going to try and make it semi weatherproof as the winters are mild it does tend to rain quite a bit here in Georgia during the spring.

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:32 am
Travco Model:
Location: Kerrville, Texas

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by 77Travco » Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:37 pm

KB2CRK wrote:According to a Mopar a-series van forum a Borg warner s237 will work but is not weather tight. The travcos and 69, 70 a series vans used the same switch. It cross references over to the NAPA part you listed Aces and the the switches I ordered off ebay.
\n\nGood info to know!

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:45 pm

I will let you know how the switch works as soon as it arrives. I will also take pictures of any mod necessary.

Offline
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Contact:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread post by KB2CRK » Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:44 pm

Well the new switch is here. Its shaft is a smaller diameter as I thought it might be. 2 5/8 washers will get it mounted but it is not long enough for the arm to hit it. The threaded section is the same length is the same as the old switch so I am assuming I am missing a tab that bolts to the arm. I would fabricate one but it has started raining outside and i need to get a nap before work tonight. Does anyone else have a picture of the switch location? I know it can be made to work so that is a good thing.

Post Reply

Return to “Brakes”